Where are SW Idaho bucks hanging out early season?

I'm in my 3rd year of big game hunting so still a rookie. I'm also still trying to piece it all together.

Year 1 I sat above a saddle and a buck wandered by 3 hours into my first day of hunting. Success. Actually dumb luck.

Year 2 I woke up in the hospital and while still there found out i had drawn a buck tag. Got released after 5 weeks, got strong enough and went out Thanksgiving week. Scouted on day 1. On day 2 while almost to where I wanted to start, I found a buck and sealed the deal.

My point is, I've been lucky.

This year, I'm hunting back in unit 39.

I took my son out today and we saw a couple does, but no bucks. It's too early for them to herd up, so where are the bucks hanging out in early October with mild temps and no significant weather?

I'm not asking for a location, but rather a terrain type. I know 39 gets huge pressure, but day hunts are what I am limited to right now. We were hunting at 5500 feet so maybe we are too low?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

OP
silverbullet555
In this pic, the ridge lines are about 5500 feet. Forget the road for a minute. The yellow line is due north to the top.

Where would you be looking for mule deer bucks?
10baf97ad6006c75e1fbce7dd5815d1b.jpg

sagebuster

Lil-Rokslider
Interesting question. My September elk hunting honey hole is in unit 35, on the very edge of unit 39's upper limits. I consistently saw bucks in pairs or three or even four together in late September, hard-horned, at the 6 to 7,000 ft level, always on secondary ridges. Cover, water, feed, lack of pressure. I think that's where they hang until late October. The 5,500 ft level you are at is really the upper limits of Winter range for unit 39. Get a bit higher, work the secondary ridges off the main spines that start at the 8-9,000 ft level, be patient and, most of all, persist. You'll get lucky...again.

OP
silverbullet555