Mule deer outfitter advice - Montana

Since this is my first post ill introduce myself briefly. My name is Grant, Im 34 and been big game hunting for a few years now, all self guided in Wyoming, but unfortunately Im a California native. Looking to try a new place and thinking about Montana since I bought some points this year. Since I have zero experience in the area I was thinking about going the outfitter route. The number of websites is a bit overwhelming so I figured Id ask for any advice from people who have maybe hunted the state and gone with an outfitter. I have one preference point for deer, elk and the combo. Im not super cost concerned but want it to be reasonable. Would be open to pack trips into the back country or even a lodge. Just want a fun experience with a decent shot at a mature buck. Thanks in advance!

Trial153

WKR
I cant help you with Montana outfitters but welcome to site. I have bowhunted the eastern 2/3 of the state several times over the last 20 years all diy and if you can hunt wy you can hunt Montana.
In any event I am sure you will get some solid recommendations on here.
Good luck

OP
B
Appreciate the responses. Looks like they are booked already for rifle mule deer. Ill keep them in mind for the future though.

ewade07

WKR
If you head out to eastern montana there is plenty of public land to hunt. Theres also the potential for bug bucks. I would never rent a guide, its not necessary. Get on montana cadastral and look at some places.

Joe Schmo

Lil-Rokslider
I’d say if you’ve done it self guided in Wyoming you could easily save yourself several grand and go self guided in Montana. Maybe cough up the bucks for onX and then you’re good to go!!

sszelong

Lil-Rokslider
If you’re already comfortable DIY I would go that route. Access can be tough, I would recommend onX and MT offers BLM/BMA maps as well. Public land can get pressured so you need to be in shape to walk if you’re after an older class deer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk