Dieting.....

Ok so I'm 36 years young and 5,9 242lb and not a obese looking 242 but it shows, i want to get to 200 need some guidance and direction from you guys on here.

Sent from my LG-M430 using Tapatalk

Im not an expert but I am down 112 lbs in 2 years. And i stay at holiday inn express sometimes.

First it's a math equation. Calories in minus calories out. Make that a net negative and that's step 1.

There are lots of nuances and some calories are better than others.

Start by tracking your calories using a program. I use mynetdiary. That will teach you a lot about your calorie intake.

I set a goal weight and calculated how many calories it would take to maintain that. Then I set that as my daily calorie goal. Then I removed sugar from coffee, eliminated starchy snacks. My snacks now are either proteins or raw vegetables. My meals focus on proteins and vegetables with a single serving of carbs at dinner. Most days I am under 2000 calories.

Finally, add in some exercise. Up until my surgery last week I did cardio 6 days per week and lifted weights 3 days per week. After surgery, my doc said I should walk as much as I can, so I am.

In the end, it's an equation. It's not linear, but it is close. Start by getting it to a negative number and then adjust from there.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Bl704

WKR
Similar story to silverbullet...at age 50 I was pushing 240 (5' 9"). I've been able to keep around 175-185 (lower weight going into elk season) now for about 2.5 years. Diet and exercise.

I cut out or greatly reduced high carb foods like breads, rice, sweets, alcohol, etc. Originally I used a food tracker with a calorie restrictive diet (something like paleo merged with primal diet) - meats, lots of veg, very little fruit, eggs, nuts, etc.

For the exercise, I started with steps...just get 10k/day. A cheap Fitbit helped me track. Later I increased cardio (elliptical, treadmill, jogging, pack training) and later added strength training.