New Bino Help ~$800-1k

thrash907

FNG
Hey all,

First time posting here. I've read some of the other bino threads, but it seems like there's a few other options that have popped up recently. Based on the recommendations here, I've narrowed down my options to the following:
1. Nikon Monarch HG 10x42
2. Meopta Meostar HD 10x42
3. Vortex Razor 10x42
4. Leica Trinovid 10x42
5. Zeiss Conquest 10x42

I'm sure there's many other options, so I'm absolutely open to suggestions!

Thanks in advance,

Ryan

AGPank

WKR
Those are the ones. Most would bump Vortex down to #5.

Someone had the a pair of the Meoptas in the classifieds for $750.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AGPank beat me to it. I saw two pairs of Meoptas in the classifieds this morning. One is the Cabelas Euro model.

I have the Vortex Razors that I bought for a great deal, and I like them. That said, at similar retail prices I would prefer the Meopta or Zeiss.

Only one I have extensive experience with are the Conquests. Purchased on sale for $699 a few years ago, there were an excellent glass of the money.

Drawbacks are:

1. Weak eyecups. I've broken a couple. Unfortunately, not an uncommon thing with other brands either, including higher priced units. Zeiss will just drop more in the mail for you, but it would be better if they just didn't crack in the first place!

2. Focusing wheel on my copy doesn't have a lot of friction. Means it's frequently turned in the harness, and I often have to refocus. It's big and easy to use, but should be slightly stiffer IMO.

3. It's somewhat sensitive to eye positioning compared to some higher end stuff I've used (SLC's). Not sure how it compares to the others you listed.

Still, I've been happy with them. Fit and finish is good, with solid armoring, and they have located plenty of game for me. Other than the eyecups, durability seems decent too, as they haven't been babied AT ALL.

manitou1

WKR