What sleep system for Arapaho/Roosevelt NF in June?

mrgreen

WKR
I'm planning a backpacking trip to the Arapaho-Roosevelt National Forest area. I've plenty of backpacking experience, but this will be my first trip out west. I'm looking at June, but it depends on the local weather.

What would be the best sleeping bag or quilt? What temperature rating? Down vs synthetic?

For shelter I have a Tut, and a MLD SolomidXL w/innernet. I've been using a NeoAir Xtherm for everything, but I have a NeoAir Xlite (which somehow only weighs 1oz less then my Xtherm).

BCSojourner

Lil-Rokslider
I live and play adjacent to the AR and get into the back-country every June as soon as the snowpack recedes. Depending on this winter's snowpack and where you are going you may not be able to get into the high country there until mid to late June. I find that my 20 degree EE (down) quilt with a good insulated pad works just fine. I use a Borah Gear bivy sack over the works. It can get pretty cold in the drainage bottoms during dawn and dusk. June is a good month as the mosquitoes are not out and about too much at higher elevations.

OP
M

mrgreen

WKR
Hey Dennis thanks for the info! I'm keeping the dates open thinking about snowpack. I have a WM Badger 15deg bag that sounds like it would be a good choice. I have the same bivy- Borah side zip. But I might bring the tent innernet, in case I get rained in. Same weight+more room.

How's the fishing at that time?

ETA: Welcome to Rokslide.

Last edited:

topher89

WKR
Like it was said above, snow can be a limiting factor in early June. With that said, I run a 15 or 20 degree bag through the summer and fall. Too warm? unzip it.

BCSojourner

Lil-Rokslider