$1500 or $2500, what would you get?

plentycoupe

Lil-Rokslider
Hey all,

After my last post looking for suggestions on a 600 yard caliber I have decided to go with the .300 WSM or the .300 WinMag.

Not including scope and mounts, If “you” were buying a new rifle with the above budgets what would you get for each?

If you are one who would build or semi custom build your own please be specific with what parts you would use, as I have no experience in doing this.

I would really like to hear about the rifles you would choose and the reasons you would go with that choice.

Thanks so much!

Wapack

FNG
I know it’s below budget but I’m a Tikka guy. I’ve not had one that wouldn’t shoot great. Actually I don’t know of anyone personally that has had one that wouldn’t shoot. There limited on mag length but there’s a bunch of aftermarket solutions to that problem. I have been thinking of a 300WSM or 338 Sherman my self...

Last edited:
OP
plentycoupe

plentycoupe

Lil-Rokslider
Also I would like to keep the rifle itself at 7lbs or less.

Defiance Ti action, Hart fluted barrel, MDT bottom metal or bottom metal of your choice (if you want to shoot heavy bullets you will need wyatts) and the stock of your choice.

Breddoch

Lil-Rokslider
In the $1500 range, take a look at the Savage Ultralite in 300 WSM. People seem to be having good luck with accuracy and it should be around the 6 lb mark. I picked one up in 280 ackley this past weekend. I’ve only shot a few groups so far for break in but it looks promising.

Zbot

WKR
Cabela’s just had the Savage Long Range Hunter on sale, plus a rebate. Could use the rest on a great scope.

OP
plentycoupe

plentycoupe

Lil-Rokslider
Defiance Ti action, Hart fluted barrel, MDT bottom metal or bottom metal of your choice (if you want to shoot heavy bullets you will need wyatts) and the stock of your choice.