2013 Colorado DIY???

Hello to everyone. I was fortunate to be directed to this site by a few of the members here in regards to a Colorado DIY hunt for next year. So far the site is pretty amazing with alot of interesting threads! I am new to the western hunting world and elk. I live down in Texas so call me a flat lander if you like, I don't mind! I have been doing plenty of research for a while now and getting serious with my efforts. I have always wanted to do this type of hunt and will most certainly get addicted for sure. It will be a success just being in God's country but at the same time I'd love to burn a tag like everyone here.

At the moment I am looking into some wilderness areas. Weiminuche, San Juan, Snowmass, and maybe West Elk. Havn't quite made my mind up yet so I am turning to you guys that are experts (compared to me) for some advice and guidance. I am looking for units that are less crowded and don't allow vehicles. I don't have an atv so being in a unit that has one would probably put me at a disadvantage. I will most likely be doing a solo backpack hunt and spike/bivy camp. Hoping to do 7 days of actual hunting. I have even considered getting packed in and out but havnt made my mind up. will depend on cost.

I have been pouring through the dow website, looking at aerial photos, topo maps, and just about all other info piecing it together. I know that some of the areas i mentioned are rugged terrain. Thats why I have started working out 6 days a week already. I also have been studying up on the climate at high altitudes and aware of what to prepare for. I have a great idea of what gear I may need and been narrowing down that category. Any input there would be appreciated though. I know how to quarter an animal in the field using the gutless method as i have done it on whitetail several times. The anatomy is basically the same but the size is all thats really different.