2016 Utah General Archery Hunt

CorbLand

WKR
To start off, I am a college student in Utah. I grew up in Idaho and moved to Utah in 2010. I grew up in a family that was introduced to hunting via a family friend after my father passed away. I did a fair amount of hunting in high school but had other interests at that time that took most of my money and time. Deer have always been that one that got away from me. I have had multiple in the crosshairs and in front of the pins but never have been able to seal the deal.
I moved to Utah and took a few years off of hunting due to limited time and drawing tags in Utah can be difficult. I was introduced to archery hunting when a coworker offered to take me. I put in for an archery tag in 2015 and drew. That coworker and hunted hard and had a few deer within range but were unable make it happen and I ate tag soup in 2015. Either way it was fun and I was addicted enough to give it another shot in 2016.
I convinced my best friends wife to buy him a bow for Christmas and she did. Him, I and the coworker from 2015 all drew Archery tags in the Cache unit in Northern Utah. I decided that this was going to be my year, I was going to make it happen even if it meant shooting a fork horn. Hey, horns don’t fill freezers.
I spent hours upon hours looking at maps and google earth finding a different area than last year. I narrowed it down to 3 different areas that I thought would hold some deer. I spent most of the spring and summer scouting all 3 of these areas. It was difficult to find the desired amount of time between two jobs and making it home to see my nieces and nephews whenever I can. By the first part of August I had it narrowed down 2 spots that I had seen the most deer in and the most sign. It worked out perfect because they were only two miles from each other which made it easy to hunt both at the same time.