2019 Montana Archery Elk Hunt

wildernessmaster

Lil-Rokslider
The 2019 elk season was my 3rd archery hunting. I am a total noob. More so, given I am an "old guy" it was my first forays into backpack hunting and solo backpack hunting. I am an east coaster, but have spent 4 previous seasons in Montana hunting.

During the previous (2018) season my brother had gone along with me on several "day" archery hunts. On one of the first we found ourselves in the middle of over 15 bulls bugling their heads off, most within 150 yards of us. I was heavy timber and heavy timber fall so sight and movement were difficult. That said, I had bugled one to come to me, and was listening to him crash through the timber at about 60 yards, bow drawn and ready for him to exit into my little clearing, when the wind shifted and the world went totally silent.

That was also the day I blew up my bow by partially dry firing it while trying to work some heavy trail grit (from ATV ingress/egress) out of the cams. Lesson learned, won't be repeating that one!

Back to 2019...

I was excited with this archery season as we had found 2 good places to bow hunt elk in the previous season and we felt like we would at least get a shot.

Prior to the season opening I came out to Montana and my brother and I hiked in and put in some trail cams in an area we knew the elk were moving through. We wanted to get an idea of what and when they were moving. We did not want to spook or soil the area so our plan was to leave em be until the week before and go fetch the memory cards out and review them.

Bad plan... As when we did, one cam had a card format failure and never worked and the other had 1 day of a cow elk which knocked the cam off the tree due to curiosity.

Side note... One of the lessons learned in this season's archery hunting is that elk are very curious and detailed creatures about their environments...!!