2019 Mule deer hunt

maxpetros

Lil-Rokslider
Hey everybody,

Been wanting to do a hunt out west for a long time and have been dragging my feet but I'm finally all in. Looking for an area I can get an OTC tag or draw easily. Not looking for huge bucks, would even take a doe tag. Figured mule deer would be a good way to cut my teeth on a solo hunt. I have extensive backpacking experience and have done quite few western trails and pretty tough hikes. If I have to put in a lot of miles to get on deer or get away from people I'll do it. I'd just like an opportunity to see deer and get a few stalks.

I should also add I hunt exclusively with a traditional bow. I'm fully aware I'll probably be eating my tag and I'm ok with that. I'd like to find an area that's conducive to getting close, I'm assuming thick cover and broken terrain would be helpful.

Any input on areas to look into that would fit the bill? Would also appreciate any helpful advice for someone heading out west for the first time.

Thanks
Max

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

OP
maxpetros

maxpetros

Lil-Rokslider