2019 success: my first mule deer

I will try to keep this short, but that isn’t usually how my stories go. I want to tell the story because it was an awesome hunt which was a culmination of web searches, e scouting, training, reading, and chats with great hunters on here over the last few years. I believe there are a few lessons that can be learned as well.

I have been able to take quite a few very nice whitetails here in the Midwest, mostly with archery equipment hunting out of a tree stand. Archery is what I love most, but I occasionally grab a rifle or muzzleloader to help get some much needed venison for the freezer. In 2019, I finally cashed in many years of points to draw my first rifle “any deer” tag in South Dakota, of which I am a resident. Now I have been building points for a long time to get to hunt basically any county in the state. I ended up going to a county where you basically do not need points to draw it. Why? Because I knew this county a little. I had hunted one of the large sections of public land several times before. My goal on this hunt was to get a mule deer, it didn’t have to be big, just not immature. Any branched 4- was really in trouble. I knew my success rate would go up here dramatically due to the fact I knew the area and had limited time to scout other “better” counties. I knew deer could get big there even with excessive pressure during rifle season because I had seen some in the past and found some dead heads from EHD (had to leave them because it is illegal to take them of public here). The dead deer found the year prior was one big negative of this county choice, but I didn’t feel it outweighed the benefit of prior knowledge.