2019 Turkey

Pezboat

WKR
I work as a mortgage underwriter. Shitty job, but it pays the bills. But the biggest perk, in my opinion, is the flexibility with my schedule the company gives me. Turkey season opened here in MN Wednesday, but it poured all day. Thursday, I got the chance to head out around 10:00 am. Was home by noon. I archery hunt turkeys and I’m a big fan of the run and gun style. There’s a small plot of public land down the road from me (160 acres), so I headed there for my lunch hour. With my new Kifaru Nomad pack, loaded with 2 decoys, I made my way into the woods. There were no cars in the parking lot, but surprisingly, there was a blind set up in the first two spots I went. So what do you do in that situation? Go where the hunters ain’t. As I approached my third choice spot, I heard a gobble about 300-400 yards away. I dropped down, crawled out, and set up my decoys. Then I hunched behind a small pine tree. I yelped. Immediate answer. It felt like an eternity, but in less than 10 minutes, I had a gobbler full strut all the way to my location. My shot rang true, and he didn’t go a foot. This is my 4th year hunting turkeys and second bird. Safe to say, I’m hooked. Turkey carnitas, here I come. Feel free to add your story here FE741105-FA5E-4496-BCB6-9721F63B540C.jpegE7DD1CA9-4716-4703-A29A-512EA7300E52.jpeg6E7527F9-2DE5-4BC4-BA70-0C9F78E3D694.jpeg

Public land AND the bow, WELL DONE Sir. Congrats on doing it the hard way. Turkey with the bow without a blind ain't nothing to sneeze at. My head is cold cause my hat is off to you. Took me 5 years to get that done.

OP
Pezboat

Pezboat

WKR
Public land AND the bow, WELL DONE Sir. Congrats on doing it the hard way. Turkey with the bow without a blind ain't nothing to sneeze at. My head is cold cause my hat is off to you. Took me 5 years to get that done.

Thanks guys.

TheCougar

WKR