2020-24 season structure options

Option 2? Why? No OTC tag? My only concern with that is point creep. As a Colorado resident I will be very pissed if I can’t hunt elk every year because of point creep. At least now no matter what, I can buy an OTC tag and hunt for the month of September.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rich M

WKR
Thanks for the link. I don't have much skin in the game - interesting read.

The idea of making the archery tags limited and having them be primary tags would change the game a bit.

As would having 2 - two-week seasons would also spread out the hunters and provide more opportunity for more folks.

Gotta manage the crowds and I guess, keep the elk on public land.

cnelk

WKR
Option 2? Why? No OTC tag?

Do you know what a DAU is? If you have to apply for a DAU, that means you have a very large area to hunt.
Similar to Wyoming 'Regions' for deer. And tag quotas would reflect the herd management objectives.

But - If I were to guess, Option 1 would be the one that is implemented.

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
If I remember correctly, the CBA's member survey showed something like 60-70% preference for option one. That was my preference as well.

MOHunter

Lil-Rokslider
I like option 1. I don’t like points. Creep is an issue in the WY general areas as well. I’m just afraid in the long run it will limit opportunity, and I don’t want to sacrifice the OTC option.

If they did insist on making it limited I would prefer a random draw like NM for traditionally OTC areas.

chasewild

WKR
Option 2? Why? No OTC tag? My only concern with that is point creep. As a Colorado resident I will be very pissed if I can’t hunt elk every year because of point creep. At least now no matter what, I can buy an OTC tag and hunt for the month of September.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk