2021 Nebraska Pine Ridge Unit - Mule Deer Hunt

The_Jim

Lil-Rokslider
Also of note, I don't think there is enough public ground in the area to actually out work someone. Those guys we talked to from Wisconsin and Iowa were putting in 10+ miles per day. I don't think there were effective miles but they were walking a long way to get w
here they wanted to be.
As a NE resident I hunt western Nebraska every year and watch this play out every season. Most guys just aimlessly pound out a bunch of miles and don't end up seeing anything. Having a bunch of guys hiking around the little public ground NE has doesn't help things out but if you have a good glassing spot and some patience you will definitely see deer. Sometimes you even see good deer.

I know a guy that comes up from New Mexico every year with his kids just to have a fun hunt, see deer, and fill his freezer. You just have to have realistic expectations...and you probably dont need to reserve a spot ahead of time at your taxidermist LOL

stutlerbw

FNG
Took my first stab at mule deer hunting, no dice.

We arrived in Crawford on the 29th of August and scouted that evening, the 30th, and the 31st. We hunted the 1st through the 5th.

We saw way more deer than I expected. Lots of does and fawns (10+ per day) and essentially no bucks (4 total in 7 days, with the biggest being a forky). After talking to a local biologist, it seems that the heat was keeping the bucks bedded all day and only moving at night.