2022 DCUA 203

I drew the permit and have read some old threads on this forum. I have some questions for those who would be willing to help. I'm new to this forum. I'm a 22 year Alaska resident. I'm interested in the area accessed off the Johnson river. Thanks

VernAK

WKR
There's a lot of good sheep country to access from the Johnson River and most of it requires a couple days hiking. Are you flying into Charlie Boyd strip?

Snyd

WKR
I've been in DCUA 3 times over the years. Never pursued Johnson River access since from what I understand it's pretty much non-doable unless you fly in to Charlie Boyd. There are other more feasible approaches for the walk-in.

If you haven't already, here's a good general place to start....

OP
B
I’m looking the” Dog leg” a bit down river from Boyd. Looking at spur creek or boulder. Hoping to pack a raft and float out if it’s doable. I’ve heard it’s been tried but don’t know how viable it is.

My GF drew the same tag this year as well. talked to a few pilots in the area and had kind of the same idea as you, was informed that there's generally a fair bit of pressure from guys getting dropped early and hiking over the top in that same country instead of rafting the river also sounds like people getting dropped below the water mark is pretty common to get into there too. Our plan is just to spend as much time as possible up there this summer then make our decision on where to go based on that. it'll be our first time hunting the unit and unfortunately probably one of the worst times to have the tag but oh well, being in sheep country is half of the enjoyment anyways.

Jimss

WKR
My guess is that some of the Boyd and other drops get booked fairly quickly? If you want a flight you may want to book and send in your deposit?

OP
B