270WSM Help

jimmy33

WKR
Gentlemen,
This is my first year reloading so I am learning a lot. This is where I’m stuck. I’m shooting a 270 WSM in browning X bolt long range with 67.5 grains of Ramshot magnum powder and 145 grain Hornady ELDX. I was seating the bullet at 2.80 COAL and I was getting very slight pressure on the bold handle lift. However, I was stacking bullets for my groups. The next three bullets I’ve made I seated the bullet out further for a COAL of 2.850. This made it so I had no pressure at all on the bolt handle but my groups grew to 1.5. My question is, do I just keep my original recipe even though I’m getting very very slight pressure on the bolt handle? Or would my magic recipe be somewhere between a COAL of 2.8 and 2.850?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wrench

WKR
You are likely either seeing an anomaly group, or on a incredibly narrow window of the wave.

Personally, I would back off to zero pressure signs, find the wider node and then dial seating.

Seating should not be affecting your load in minutes.....it should be more like .25 or less.

OP
jimmy33

jimmy33

WKR
You are likely either seeing an anomaly group, or on a incredibly narrow window of the wave.

Personally, I would back off to zero pressure signs, find the wider node and then dial seating.

Seating should not be affecting your load in minutes.....it should be more like .25 or less.

Copy

A382DWDZQ

WKR
That seems low to be getting sticky bolt. Isn’t the recipe for the 140/145 66.2-73.5 for Magnum?

A382DWDZQ

WKR
Did velocity match with published data? Also, what primers and cases, and with cases, are they new to this chamber?

OP
jimmy33

jimmy33

WKR
Did velocity match with published data? Also, what primers and cases, and with cases, are they new to this chamber?

Velocity was 3150 fps…faster than what I was expecting at that powder charge. Federal large magnum primers and once shot nosler brass that was fired from this rifle

kota

FNG