3# 2.3oz rifle

MarshLaw303

Lil-Rokslider
Hi guys,

I've been dreaming of a lightweight rifle for many years. I'm not a hunter or a shooter, but I really love light things. Looking over rifles and parts for years now I just had a burning desire to build something knowing I could design something lighter than what was currently available.

After tons of research I decided to build an AR-15 as I could build it without any special skills and minimal special tools, I could also get it a pound lighter than the lightest bolt rifle parts list I could put together.

After 2 years of buying parts, researching, dreaming and scheming I've finally finished something I am very proud of. This rifle has more plastic/carbon fiber in it than steel and being an AR-15 is limited in power but still I think it's pretty cool

16" 6.5 Grendel barrel, carbon hand guard, carbon stock, carbon lower, polymer upper, polymer lpk, aluminum bcg and basically the lightest option for every part used put together makes a 3# 2.3oz rifle. I still need a mag (~2oz) and some rounds to test fire but thought I'd show her off

IMG_0782.jpg

-Tim

Last edited:
OP
MarshLaw303

MarshLaw303

Lil-Rokslider
Grendel is the most power/range you can stuff in an ar-15 in a factory loaded caliber. If I hand loaded I'd want .257 bobcat or 7mm Valkyrie.

-Tim

HuntHarder

WKR
Classified Approved
That thing is pretty sweet, still makes me nervous that it is almost all polymer. I think I would test fire 20 rounds with a string about 20 feet away. I also get nervous figuring out my rifles max load before I see signs of pressure when reloading.

That is pretty amazing that you have a semiautomatic rifle sub 3 1/2 lbs.

OP
MarshLaw303

MarshLaw303

Lil-Rokslider