300 PRC vs 6.5 PRC

tnak445

FNG
Hi everyone,
New to the forum and have done some searching with not a ton of luck. I have read up on some reviews but none were quite comparing these two calibers that I’m torn between.
I have been tossing around the idea of picking up a CA ridgeline in one of those two calibers. I’ve always been sold on the idea of a heavier bullet but I know that’s been changing.
I live in WA state and mostly archery or muzzleloader hunt for deer and elk, but may be headed out to Wyoming this year for mule deer. At home the rifle will be used for mostly bear, which is why I lean towards the 300 PRC. And yes I hand load so factory ammo availability is no concern to me.
I apologize if this has been covered, but I’m looking for some personal experiences with the two.
Thank you in advance.

I have a CA Mesa in 6.5 PRC. Very accurate, pretty mild to shoot with the brake, easy to handload for, and kills quickly. I have no experience with 300 PRC, but I would expect performance similar to a 300 Win mag.

Varminterror

Lil-Rokslider
The choice used to be 7rem mag vs. 300win mag. The same paradigm still applies - they ARE different and one is smaller and less powerful than the other, BUT both are more than sufficient for 90% of the same tasks.

The gap between 300PRC and 6.5 PRC is bigger than that between 7RM and 300WM, so there may be some argument that there are more tasks for which the 6.5prc is too light but a 300 sufficient, but it’s really still almost a horse apiece on the business end.