338 250 grain Berger elite hunter

brockel

WKR
I have a good load worked up that is launching these out at 2800fps. But I’m hearing mixed results on terminal results. Some people are saying they are penciling through. What are you guys seeing from close to far

tdot

WKR
I have no practical experience with this bullet yet, I'll be starting my load workup for it soon. But, after researching it, I did find some comments about guys using pin drills to open up the tip to ensure proper expansion. Even just using a pin, to ensure the tip is open may be sufficient. No bad comments from guys who took that step. So I'll atleast be trying that.

Broz

WKR
I have no practical experience with this bullet yet, I'll be starting my load workup for it soon. But, after researching it, I did find some comments about guys using pin drills to open up the tip to ensure proper expansion. Even just using a pin, to ensure the tip is open may be sufficient. No bad comments from guys who took that step. So I'll atleast be trying that.
To elaborate on this. Here is what I use. Torch Tip Cleaner

And you do not want to enlarge the hollow point. Just assure it is open back to lead. The .027" drill is what I use most.

Jeff

Killed one mulie and one elk with that exact bullet out of a Lapua which is what I’m guessing you’re shooting with that kind of velocity. Mulie was at 647 and wound channel was good, hit bone on opposite shoulder and broke it all but didn’t destroy too much meat thankfully. The elk was at about 120 yds and I put 2 shots through him, seemed like it penciled through like you’re saying you’ve heard. I can’t remember what the velocity was off the top of my head as I have gotten rid of the gun.

I was going to shoot those same bullets through my win mag this year for moose but they didn’t shoot as well as game kings and plus they were too long for my magazine only allowing me to have 1 in the mag.

Broz

WKR