4 Cyl Tacoma for hunting rig?

bsnedeker

WKR
So I'm on the hunt for a new-to-me hunting rig. I've been looking at a bunch of different trucks but have been hoping to land a decent Tacoma. I found a 2013 with relatively low mileage that checks all the boxes I'm looking for and is a good price, but as the title implies, it is a 4 cyl. The last 4 banger I owned was a 1985 mercury topaz which was....not great, but I've heard that they have come a long way since then. I have no plans to tow anything with this rig, it is strictly to be used driving to and from hunting locations and banging around mountain roads.

Does anyone have any experience with using a 4 cyl in the mountains? I'd appreciate your experience!

Ive been using my 4cyl taco for the last four years down here in SW colorado. Ive gone all over the place, probably some spots I shouldn’t have as well. I’ve hauled firewood, dirt, rocks and even pulled a trailer or two with firewood and a SxS.

FLAK

WKR
I had a 94 with the 4 cyl.
Indestructible little truck with limitations.
Off Road in the Mtns. was awesome.
Hwy speeds in the Mtns. were horrible.
Had to turn off the AC to make it up,,,in 3rd gear.
Had trouble towing a lawnmower, no lie.
Great truck for local hunting/short trips.

Stickbow

FNG
I've got a 07 RC tacoma with 4cyl. Lift and 255/85/16s, and it is excellent for actually getting places in the mountains and not getting stuck. Will agree its slow on highways and big hills, but because its a manual you can sort of manage that. Being small and light is a significant advantage to me.

JoeDirt

WKR
I ended up buying a 2011 4 door 4.0 v6 for hunting I wish my gas tank was bigger. The power is nice and i've come to learn it doesn't really matter what you drive on forestry/logging roads they all get about the same millage. My 2003 Subaru Forester actually gets slightly worse mileage than my v6 Tacoma.

JoeDirt

WKR
I had a 94 with the 4 cyl.
Indestructible little truck with limitations.