40 mile country

Jaker_cc

WKR
I’ve been researching a hunt for 2023 in the 40 mile herd territory. After emailing one of the flight services out of Tok they are booked out until 2024 and are charging $9,500 a man to fly into and out of the field. Then on top of that they charge $500 per animal to get it out of the field. Seems to me quite ridiculous as I’ve read on here that it could be done way more affordable than that.

I’ve read a bunch of threads already about the area and hunting this herd, but I’ve got to ask. Aside from paying these absurd prices, trying to book the December before with 40 mile air, or not going at all, what are my options. Are there any other flight services that access the 40 mile herd other than 40 mile and Tok that I’ve missed? Does going further west to hunt the other herd cost as much as it does in eastern Alaska? I’ve kind of got a bad taste in my mouth about hunting caribou after hearing that number. I’d really love to go do it but I dang sure am not paying that for a flight in.

VernAK

WKR
Demand far exceeds supply for 40 Mile hunts and most other hunts in Alaska.
Some of the operators in that area have legal issues so I'd be hesitant to deposit with them for fear of losing the deposit if not in business.

Golden Eagle Outfitters out of Delta Jct puts a few hunters on the western edge of the 40 Mile country and they are very reliable.

I don't know exactly where the guys operate over there; unfortunately I haven't been lucky enough to get in with them myself. But I'm guessing that most of what they access is in the preserve. The Feds keep a tight seal on who they let in and how many operations they let in. Make sure whoever takes you is in accordance with all agencies and land owners. (I'll edit to say 40 Mile Air and Golden Eagle are a couple who no doubt have all this in order) Most people are under the impression that public land is public land, but that doesn't mean people can operate commercially on it at their will.