5 Vet Idaho DIY first time Elk Hunt

Me, along with 5 other veterans, will be heading to Idaho for our first DIY elk hunt. We are all currently on deployment and have a short amount of time left before we leave this hellish place. As for me, I am stuck. I have studied countless videos, bought the ELK101 course, took notes, but I am still at a loss for what exactly I am trying to search for. Looking at these forums, I have somewhat of a gut ache seeing the reactions and comments about the place that I will be hunting, (Lemhi A zone). I am new to the Elk hunting scene, but have spent some time in Wyoming hunting mule deer and antelope. We are all truly looking forward to this opportunity to get out, and heal our souls from being away from the thing that brings us the most joy, the outdoors. The thing I am stuck on is what to exactly look for while trying to find bedding areas, food sources, wallows, etc. The terrain in the area seems to be a lot different than Wyoming. Also, finding access points has been something that has been truly bothering me. I have put in the time and research, but find myself circling back to asking for help. We all want to come home and enjoy the time outdoors, but dont want to get caught in a rut to where we are spending most of our time searching for a place to hunt, rather than actually hunting. We all plan on doing a several day backpack hunt, and dont mind pushing out into the wilderness to find Elk.

Disco14

Lil-Rokslider
Sorry I wish I could help you with specific info, but im not familiar with that area. Have you tried to reach out to a local ID fish and game biologist?

hope others chime in or message you for help/ advice.

thank you for your service and God Bless.

Last edited:

GregB

WKR
IDFG has an excellent map center that has an overlay showing all the roads and trails as well as unit and unit/zone boundaries. Have several areas picked out and stay mobile. If you don't see real fresh sign or elk move on until you do.