7 saum help

gabenzeke

WKR
I'm having a Remington 700 redone and chambered in 7 saum. I was able to score a hundred pieces of brass, but now I need help with powder and primers. I plan to shoot either the 145 cutting edge lazers or the 168 bergers for now. Given powder and primers seem to be impossible to find, what are the one or two powders and primers you'd have an eye on for this rifle? I'm new to reloading and the one time I came across federal 210 primers, by the time I figured out those would work, they were gone. I'd like to have just a couple I'm looking for to get me started. Really would like to have a load worked up for this coming season.

Sent from my Pixel 6 Pro using Tapatalk

OP
G

gabenzeke

WKR
Where are you located? Any large rifle or magnum large rifle you would probably be able to make work.
Central Iowa. So large rifle benchrest primers are ok? I see Brownells has some of those right now

OP
G

gabenzeke

WKR
Man if you were closer I'd be able to spare a few but yes you should be able to make large rifle bench rest primers work
Ugh....this is going to make me lose what remains of my hair. So am I going to see subpar results? I don't want to buy a thousand primers if they aren't quite right. I'd rather wait. Even if it means I have to resort to bow hunting this fall

Chad E

WKR
I think you'll be fine. I'm just saying with a 7 saum you could use either large rifle or magnum large rifle. Depending on powder used one type(or brand) might produce better results. My experience is primers are a much smaller piece of the puzzle than powder so in your shoes id grab em.

Levi8599

Lil-Rokslider
Large rifle were better for me over magnum primers. Groups settled in better with just LR. I use N560 or H1000.

sneaky

"DADDY"
Look at it this way, you won't lose money if you decide the LR primers don't work. You can sell them in a split second

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk