Advice for beginner

Hi everyone my names Alan. I’ve been a member for a bit but never really posted anything. I’m pretty new to hunting. I’m starting to do some scouting for deer here in California ( Sierras )I would just like any advice i can get from you veterans out. I also wanna get more involved on here so I’m just trying to get my name out there. Thanks guys have a good one.

daiello91

FNG
I also wanna get more involved on here so I’m just trying to get my name out there.

Welcome to one of the most rewarding activities in life.

First, don't focus on trying to make a name for yourself. Hunting isn't college football, you're never going to win a Heisman or get drafted in the first round in hunting. Just enjoy it (not saying don't take pics and share them)!

Second, learn all you can, learn from your mistakes, learn from your successes and always keep pushing. Hunting is mentally and physically challenging. Too many people are their own worst enemy by thinking they can't keep going, they can't be out in the dark, they can't close the gap or climb that hill.

My best advice is to get away from the road hunters or use them to your advantage. Pick a area you can sit and watch even if it’s close to a road. Plenty of deer pass through right behind the road hunters once the truck noise is gone.

406life

Lil-Rokslider
Find a local mentor you can learn from. There really isn't any replacement for experience, whether it be your own, hard won in the mountains, or someone else's that you glean from. The First Hunt Foundation can help pair you up with someone.

All Cali jokes aside… The millions of ants swarming the I5 corridor have no idea what sort of country is to the East of them to explore. I have spent some time in CA. Some people where I live think I’m joking, but I would like to try a Columbia Blacktail hunt up north sometime with 1 of my boys.