AK spring bear 2021

Gentlemen,
I'm relatively new to AK and I was wondering if anyone had any snow reports along the Sterling Hwy/Hope/Cooper Landing areas? I plan on heading out for a few days to spot and stalk black bear, however one of the weather websites showed a current snow depth of 19" IVO Cooper Landing. Im hoping someone can confirm or deny what the current snow depth is. Thanks.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

Sourdough

WKR
In a cabin, on a mountain, in "Wilderness" Alaska.
Try the 511 Alaska Highway camera/weather system. It shows live current time camers pointed at the roads throughout Alaska. It even shows the mountainsides. And often you can watch bears and moose in the area. I use the Turnagain Pass highway cameras regularly.

I just clicked on both "Summit Lake" and "Tern Lake" cameras and shows very little snow even well up the mountainside.

Good luck hunting........I loath bears.

Last edited:
You can also check the FAA weather cameras to get some info on those areas too. I made the drive last Friday. There is definitely a lot more snow than there has been the last several years. Probably a couple weeks behind. Areas through turnagain pass still had several feet right off the highway. Even a couple trails that are usually snow free by the first week in may had several spots of solid ice. You should still be able to access alpine areas, however there may be a bit more competition where access looks better. There were several places where I see guys spotting bears from the road every year around this time that were still pretty snowy. So I guess if you're willing to post hole a bit, you may have less competition in those areas.

OP
J