An Unusual Boot Recommendation: Danner IronSofts

hjcruger

FNG
A lot of guys will badmouth these boots just because they are Danners. Others might think I'm crazy because I'm recommending a boot meant for working on concrete floors for backcountry hunting. Let me explain. When I bought these I was a college student with little money, and now I'm a graduate student with less money. I bought these boots for wearing in town because they were relatively inexpensive and looked nice. I bought them a half size too small (so my pinkie toe was jammed against the toe box) in hopes that I would wear them in so they perfectly fit my feet. One thing to keep in mind when reading this review: I immediately swapped out the insoles the boots come with for the Superfeet Green insoles I have been using for the last 3 years.
A few weeks after buying the boots, I moved from Vermont to Idaho to start my Master's research. For three months, I wore these boots while carrying 40-140 pounds through the Pioneer Mountains all day, everyday. That area is incredibly dry, and boots I've worked with in that environment before dried out and tore up. These boots held up, and I think they held up so well largely because there is no seams along the side of the toe box. In the past I have torn these seams, leaving the boots completely useless, but the IronSofts don't have that weak point, and wore in phenomenally. My hopes for the boots stretching to perfectly fit my feet worked out, and the boots became very comfortable within a month.