Anchor points

I’m new to the recurve, shooting 3 under 60” recurve. I use the webbing in between my thumb and pointer finger and lock that in behind my jaw bone. Then I use the string blur and make sure it’s down the middle of my arrow and once my string touches my nose (like a compound) I know I have reached my anchor and I’m ready to complete the release. I have not heard or read about anyone using string to nose as and anchor for recurve? Does anything with this method for anchoring sound way off? Thanks.

Foggy Mountain

Lil-Rokslider
Ok so there’s really zero difference in compound and trad shooting. Should be the same grip, same back tension, stance, follow through, etc etc etc.
You also want the same sight picture each time. If you don’t touch your nose to the string you could move your head. If you were gapping or crawling your sight picture would not be the same resulting in inconsistency.

Foggy Mountain

Lil-Rokslider
To clarify, forget string blur. Touch your pointer finger in this case to your corner of your mouth. Yea the web will be under/behind jaw. The string should be on your nose tip. Look to your arrow tip to gauge left/right and gap distance. This will vary depending on different things.
You need to be shooting dominant eye for best results

Btaylor

WKR
That sounds like a repeatable anchor and that is really important. I tried air drawing to your anchor and it feels a little awkward to me but that means nothing. My anchor is a somewhat similar. I shoot 3 under and anchor with the middle finger at the corner of my mouth and with my thumb knuckle bent at a 90 tucked behind my jaw bone. That position seems to put the arrow under my eye the best for me. If your anchor is comfortable for you and repeatable, you should be fine I would think.

Foggy Mountain

Lil-Rokslider
I actually use a middle finger anchor but split finger. The higher the better. Lessens the gap. Longer arrows do as well.

OP
S