Any cross eye dominant shooters out there?

Steeliedrew

Lil-Rokslider
Hey all,

I’ve been shooting a bow for eight years now. It hasn’t been consistent though. Sometimes taking 6+ months off at a time and then scrambling a few months before season to get dialed in again. I’m working on changing that this year.

Last night I decided I’d try shooting both eyes open to help with low light target visibility. I immediately noticed a big difference in being able to extend my shooting session in the dwindling light. The target appeared much brighter compared to one eye shut, which got me pretty excited about learning to shoot both eyes open.

I’m 34 years old and from the moment I first picked up a BB gun when I was a youngster I always shot right handed and with my left eye shut. Nobody ever told me otherwise. When I picked up a bow eight years ago I naturally got a right handed bow and began shooting with my left eye closed from the get go.

Last night after shooting pretty tight groups at 50 yards with both eyes open I did some reading on the advantages of both eyes open versus one eye shut. Then it dawned on me that I’ve never really checked to see which side my dominant eye is on. So I performed the test where you make a triangle with your hands out in front of you and focus on a target somewhere. Then you close each eye individually to find out when the target stays framed in the triangle with whichever eye opened. For me, when my left eye is open and right eye closed the target stays framed. Thus, I’m left eye dominant. And since I shoot right handed that makes me a cross eye dominant shooter.