Anybody rucking?

jarrettd

FNG
Tried rucking for the first time today. Made me realize that my pack is not good for that amount of weight. It really made my back sore between the shoulder blades. It also felt like there was a lot of pressure on the shoulder straps. I run an Eberlestock X2 and i had a 50lb bag of salt. We did 4 miles. Being new to this, does anyone have any tips? i had the load lifters all the way tight, but im not exactly sure how they work. I may look at getting a better/bigger pack. Im a small guy, 5'3" 135lb.

Rob5589

WKR
Welcome! First thing, why so much weight from the onset? I'd start with 30 or so until you get a feel for it. Second, find some pack fitting videos and make sure you're fitted correctly. That is imperative to comfort with weight. Good luck!

thinhorn_AK

"DADDY"
I do but I’m not an expert on it by any means. I throw on a pack with 30lb in it when I take my dog out and go for 3-4 miles most mornings. I don’t mess with heavier weights until closer to hunting season or when I’m doing indoor workouts like step ups. I try to keep myself to where I can do 3 miles on rolling terrain with a 50lb pack in 40 minutes or less.

Traveler

WKR
I always have additional weight in my backpack when I am walking, hiking anywhere. Whatever is needed to maintain 35-50 lbs. fishing, hiking or just to park with kids.

Don’t be too quick to blame the soreness and discomfort on your pack. It was your first time…your body isn’t used to it.

The_Yetti

Lil-Rokslider
I started back up recently, I do about 30 pounds in my SO Saker. Will slowly work up the distance and the weight and be going pretty far with a good amount of weight before the season, but right now it's pretty easy to work back into it, post holidays.

TheTone

WKR