Anyone raise pack goats?

Wvroach

WKR
So I have a herd of Nubian goats, three of my females are due to Kid in a week or so.

My original intention was to sell off the doe kids with the market the way it is they are going for 300+ they will be registered, but now I'm thinking instead of selling off or processing the wethers for meat I may keep two or three to be pack goats.

The research I've done suggest using wethers opposed to does or bucks to minimize potential udder damage and the smell of the bucks.

So just curious as to what others experiences were with raising pack goats and things they did well and what to avoid.

They will be used predominantly in the Appalachian mountains but may also take them out on some western trips.

McCrapper

Lil-Rokslider
I’ll bump this as I want to know more and I need help finding some pack goats in Texas.

[I posted a reply last week that got deleted. Adding it back here again.]

I've been raising and hunting with packgoats since 2005. There's a lot to know, but here's a cheat sheet:

- Breeds to stay away from: Nubian, Saanen.

- Breeds to look for: Lamancha, Alpine, Oberhasli, Toggenburg. Alpines are high strung but very athletic, so it's best to cross them with one of the other three breeds.

- The #1 killer of packgoats is a condition called "urinary calculi" which are basically stones that block the urinary tract. To try and prevent this from happening, don't castrate the bucklings before their urethra is fully grown; don't feed them grain or alfalfa after 2 years of age; do feed them a mineral supplement that has a 2:1 calcium to phosphorous ratio (most mineral supplements branded for goats have this ratio wrong so read your labels). Opinions vary as to when the urethra is full grown, but I wouldn't castrate earlier than 6 months of age and I've waited as long as 9 months (some breeders castrate at 2 weeks). There's a book called Diet For Wethers by Carolyn Eddy that digs into this in more detail.