Anyone still liking their Mystery Ranch Metcalf?

_Scooter_

Lil-Rokslider
I haven't seen much mentioned about the Metcalf in a couple years, and was wondering if anyone still uses and would recommend this pack? Found it for a very reasonable price (close to half of what a Kifaru would cost all kitted out), and considering taking a chance on the Mystery Ranch Metcalf.

Now, I am in now way saying this is as good of a pack as the Kifaru or other high-end, made in USA packs, but the Metcalf has caught my attention. I'm new to hunting (rifle) and will most likely be day trips hunting deer in Northern CA, and the occasional overnight/multi-day trip, sometimes even just backpacking and scouting. As a new hunter I'll probably be coming back empty-handed most of the time and probably won't be hiking in that far from the car, and no plans anytime soon on going after anything huge like elk, etc., and because I have quite a bit of other gear to purchase I'm trying to be a bit cost-conscious.

I'm 6'2, 195lbs. with a 32.5" waist and looks like I'd be a medium based on my torso measurement (19.5). I've always been a large in every other pack I've owned (backpacking, climbing packs) but confirmed with their customer service folks that the medium is the size I need.

Any thoughts from those who have used or are using this pack is greatly appreciated, and thank you in advance!

2InadOzm.jpg

RSU4Kzpm.jpg

BhpyXpOm.jpg

pjyBkifm.jpg

Rv6FdiHm.jpg

Last edited:

Kotaman

WKR
Great pack, but still heavy for what it is. I had a couple “pre guide light” Metcalf’s and as much as I liked tgem, they were just too heavy. Guide Light frame helps but still heavy for its capacity. Excellent, bomb proof pack otherwise.

OP
S

_Scooter_

Lil-Rokslider
Great pack, but still heavy for what it is. I had a couple “pre guide light” Metcalf’s and as much as I liked tgem, they were just too heavy. Guide Light frame helps but still heavy for its capacity. Excellent, bomb proof pack otherwise.