Anyone want to go bowhunt in NZ with me?

Jimbo2312

FNG
Hey fellas,

I had a friend bail on this trip, so it just became double the cost. Splitting the cost of a rentacar and helicopter would be amazing and honestly preferred at this point, I have no experience in New Zealand but its something I've been dreaming about for the past few years. I have the ability to fly standby, meaning I have flexibility in scheduling this... if your seriously interested, let me know-DIY, on the cheap side of things. And for anyone in NZ reading this, I would gladly exchange an Illinois public whitetail hunt to tag along with you, even if its just glassing/ packing out and enjoying the country!

Thanks,

Jim

Chances you kill something with a bow is zero.
Haha

When you goin?

Where you chopper in at? I’d have a plan B. West coast got 3 foot in rain in 48 hours last time. Changes plans in a hurry.

OP
Jimbo2312

Jimbo2312

FNG
Chances you kill something with a bow is zero.
Haha

When you goin?

Where you chopper in at? I’d have a plan B. West coast got 3 foot in rain in 48 hours last time. Changes plans in a hurry.
Yes I figured as much, haha. This is as much to get a better understanding of the terrain and animals the right way vs. spending weeks behind a computer screen. If I get a shot at one that's great; I'd be just as happy to help some pack theirs out though.

Heli out of Haast, he outlined what you just said about rain and had a few other spots for backup. I really wanted to hunt by Big Bay but it looks like the trails are ****** and heli there is more than 2x the cost than going closer to Haast. Ideally going at the end of the month- super flexible with flights though, flying standby

Big bay is roar block fairly certain.

Heaps, heaps of sand flies. Been up the cascade valley a wee bit one time when I was chasing waves Jackson bay and it blew out.. Fvck all the sand flies were worse then mozzies on the tundra.