Archery hunting in central NC

This is my first year out archery hunting in central NC and I'm facing a steep learning curve. I can find what I think are deer trails, but I don't see any other sign on them. No droppings, rubs, or scrapes anywhere. I'm also trying to do spot and stalk, but all the dead leaves and twigs means it's incredibly hard to try and move quietly. Plus the leaves in combination with the clay doesn't leave much for tracks. I can't afford a stand or trail cameras at the moment. Is there a way to move more quietly? Where should I look for deer? I've watched videos from Wired To Hunt and others, but I'm curious to see what people on here recommend.

When I lived in NC I hunted the Uwharrie NF and some of the WMAs as well as some private land a friend owned. Most of the guys there use tree stands for a good reason as it is very hard to move quietly in those crunchy October leaves. If it is lightly raining the sound won't be as much of an issue but if the rain is too hard, the deer will bed up somewhere and you won't see them until you are right no them. Even with a tree stand you have to pick a good spot overlooking some rubs and/or trails. You can use a ground blind but you will still be playing the wind game more than you would with a tree stand. I have seen plenty of deer while sitting behind a fallen log tangle so you don't absolutely need a manufactured ground blind either.