Archery instruction/practice?

68Plexi

WKR
I’m new to archery and looking for some help with proper technique and practice. I used to play golf and know that practice doesn’t actually make perfect, it only reinforces whatever habits (good or bad) you’re repeating. The closest archery shop is an hour away from my home so I don’t have a local shop I can regularly visit. I’ve found some good advice in the tips and tactics on this website and some helpful videos from Inside Out Precision on YouTube. Just found Phil Mendoza’s videos here and they look helpful too.

The best help I’ve found was actually from the archery manager at Cabelas, but that’s an hour and a half from my house and their indoor range is 12 yards. I live in Tahoe, CA.

So I’m looking for resources, drills, or maybe even an archery shop that can help me cultivate a practice routine to create good habits. Right now when I draw I feel like I’m standing over a golf ball with 100 “checks” going through my head. Is my grip too tight? Is my elbow bent enough? Is my anchor point consistent? Nothing feels natural. I don’t expect to have the time to go through all of these mechanical checks in the field, which means I’ll shoot however I’ve practiced, for better or worse. I appreciate your help if you have any.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
You already mentioned two resources I was going to suggest, inside out precision, Phil Mendoza. I’d also suggest NockOn archery. Between those three resources I’ve learned a lot on shooting technique. I don’t have a shop near by so a lot of what Ive learned is from watching and reading, and then translating that to shooting.