Archery Rangefinder (Leupold Fulldraw?)

I'm looking to replace my Vortex Ranger 1300. Man does it leave a ton to be desired. First off, I can range the same 3-D target three times and get three different readings. Second, it occasionally just "gives up" and doesn't give me a reading. The display also has a tendency to either be washed out in sun or unreadable in dark timber based on the setting. I don't have much good I can say about it, except that it was cheap and did an OK job throughout the years, assuming I had time to range my target 3-4 times.

As a result, I'm shopping around for a new rangefinder. Throughout my shopping though, I got confused.

So I'm an engineer (see username), but I don't do physics/mechanical stuff. That said, I did pass a few physics courses. I'm wondering if someone from Leupold (I'm looking at the Fulldraw rangefinder) can explain to me why/how archer's advantage matters when you're just getting a horizontally compensated range (literally just the distance the laser craps out times the cosine of the angle). I've heard some BS floating around the internet that "cut charts are more accurate" when no one seems to understand that the cut chart is doing the same math as your rangefinder.

I guess I'm wondering if the Leupold Fulldraw 5 is really "more accurate" or if that is just marketing BS (the laws of physics say it's BS). Also, if anyone has a recommendation for a reliable rangefinder that's quick to give me an accurate reading, I'm all ears.

bigbuckdj

WKR
There is a point where the cosine doesn’t work anymore. I think it’s like 30 degrees(roast me if that’s wrong). If you’re shooting at 20 yards it won’t matter, at 70 it definitely will.

I had a Fulldraw 4 and sold it. It was very slick and fast. I kept the Leica instead as I valued the optics and rifle ballistics more than the speed and archery ballistics. Lots of good options in that price range.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gr8fuldoug

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Leica 2400-R