Arizona Unit 23 Oct-Nov Mule Deer Rifle - Where did they all go...

rjsiii

FNG
This is my first time ever hunting. I got drawn for Unit 23 Oct-Nov rifle Mule Deer. I have researched about as much as humanly possible online to learn. I have a few friends that let me pick their brains. Looking for some other insights.

Since being drawn I have been out glassing about 5 times in different spots. Unfortunately, I have not seen but a 2 spike muley bucks. I am mainly in the northern portion of the unit and would like to stay there. Any advice on where/how to look to find more would be much appreciated. I am not getting discouraged as I am not looking for a giant but would like to have some sort of a productive first year. I have heard with all the heat, campers and low rain fall that they are pretty scarce/hidden/deep. Hoping someone here with knowledge of the unit can shed some more light.

I can say that the handful of times I have been out have been lesson learning and I have thoroughly enjoyed even the unfruitful outings. I have a 9 year old son that I am excited to get going in the lifestyle next year. It will be the best father son time! Thanks in advance.

Fatcamp

WKR
Are you glassing before the sun rises and after it falls? The first and last hour of light are by far the most productive for spotting game. Can mean the difference between seeing really nice bucks and squat.

AZ_J

FNG
I tend to usually have a hard time just seeing deer in the warmer weather hunts (August archery otc). I never see any big bucks and when I do see deer its usually the first hour after visible light and last 30 minutes. Cant tell you how many deer I've walked into after I have to use a flashlight to see where Im going.

Colder temps will get them moving around longer after sunup and sooner before sunset.

coues32

WKR
Keep at it! Its Still hot
but Az gf loves tag numbers and it shows 23 and 22 and gets hammered with better hunters every year.