Army surplus’s primaloft puffy pants replacement

Cdpp880

WKR
I have a pair of the surplus level 7 primaloft puffy pants I have been using for a few years now. They are warm, and CHEEP but they are really heavy. I have no experience with any other puffy pants and am wanting to get some lighter ones. They do not need to be camo but am fine if they are. I want something that is really warm bc I normally hunt in mid October and the last few hunts have been really cold (at least to me). Really want a pair of WARM packable puffy pants. Sitka, first lite, stone glacier, black diamond..... what do you recommend?
Thanks

fngTony

Super Moderator
Staff member
Are you open to a down filled pant? I know those surplus pants are fairly durable and that will likely be a compromise with the lighter options.

I tried the kuiu ones (pre ultra) great warmth for the weight but they are not durable. Best suited for something that mainly sits in your pack.

Sitka kelvin (pre lite version) they are discontinued but still floating around so... more durable than the kuiu, twice the weight, 20% warmer.

Currently have some from UA called the alpine ops. They are closer in warmth to the kuiu sd pro pants in warmth, based on the fill amount and type. Definitely the warmest that I’ve tried. A little bulky to pack but not a deal breaker. I’m a bit undecided on the quality since the material is thin (pretty quiet though).

Sitka don’t separate through the waist although they have zippers about 7/8 up the legs. I found that to be quicker to put on but something that fully separates is much easier when trying to not get them trashed going over muddy boots.

Austink47

WKR