Arrow Build Questions

TheKid

FNG
I am relatively new to building my own arrows. I shoot a VXR 31.5 set at 75lbs with a 29" draw length. I am looking into arrow options for whitetail this season. I have looked into the Easton Axis and Hexx but am open to other options. I am leaning toward an Easton 6mm Hexx 330 spine with a 50g brass insert and a 100g head. With 3 AAE max stealth vanes and a lighted nock, my arrow would total about 410g. Would this be sufficient for whitetail and appropriate to shoot out of my bow with my DW and DL.

Thanks,
Milan

Sobrbiker

WKR
That length and setup I would go minimum 300 spine (if not stiffer). Underspined will cause you more problems than overspined, and a 300 or lower would probably bring you arrow weight up a gpi or two boosting your momentum/penetration (not that what you’re talking about would have issues there at whitetail ranges).
It’s a rabbit hole, enjoy the journey finding what your bow likes.
Do you have a bow shop that you can buy less than a dozen? Makes the journey a little less expensive...

I'm shooting same bow, same weight with 1/2" shorter draw and I'm using a .250 spine with 60 grain insert and 125 head. I don't think you will get a .330 spine to tune. Might not get a .300 to tune depending on your arrow length. 300 with standard insert should be fine.

I am relatively new to building my own arrows. I shoot a VXR 31.5 set at 75lbs with a 29" draw length. I am looking into arrow options for whitetail this season. I have looked into the Easton Axis and Hexx but am open to other options. I am leaning toward an Easton 6mm Hexx 330 spine with a 50g brass insert and a 100g head. With 3 AAE max stealth vanes and a lighted nock, my arrow would total about 410g. Would this be sufficient for whitetail and appropriate to shoot out of my bow with my DW and DL.

Thanks,
Milan