Arrow build

Aliconda

FNG
Hey, so I am new to archery and just picked up a bow (Mathews prima 50#). I am trying to figure out what arrow set up I need. Hoping to hunt whitetail and elk. I am a 27.5dl and 50#. I am thinking about going with a micro arrow since I have a lighter draw weight and using the iron will bh Snyder core system (new this spring). Per the charts I need a 400 spine arrow but was wondering if I should go with a 340 spine and increase the weight in the front for a better foc....also trying to figure out how much total arrow weight I should try to aim for. Thanks!

450-500 grain arrow with cut on contact head try and keep your shots under 40 yards and good shot placement will get the job done. IMO don’t worry about foc that much. Focus on good form and a good tuned bow/arrow set up. Have fun.

Brizzle

FNG
I’d shoot a 400 Spartan with no extra weight and a 100g point, should be about 370 g with descent speed still. I hunted that set up last season with the same draw length @ 57lbs and got a pass through on every deer i shot, you’ll only gain a little over 2.5 lbs of KE while losing over 50fps trying to shoot a 500g arrow. Not worth it. Definitely shoot fixed, I’d go slick trick or tooth of the arrow. 4 fletch will help with broad head flight. I’m not a fan of outsiders, they’re a pain to remove from targets, micros are great for field archery when using a micro glued in target point but in necessary for hunting and they don’t always spin straight after you glue on the outsert.

Brendan

WKR
IMO 450-500 Grain arrow is not the right recommendation at that draw length and weight, I'd be targeting closer to 400 grains which would give you a speed of ~230 fps. More important than arrow weight is getting the spine right.

The ideal spine for you will be a 450 with 175 grains of weight up front. Definitely not a 340. 400 is even stiff.