Australian 3 day hunt? My list so far

archangel

FNG
Hi All!

I've been hunting for a few years, mostly driving then a short scout and hunt, then back to the car. I'm planning my first multi-night/day hunt from a backpack. Here is my list so far, excluding consumables.

I want to reduce the weight where possible, whilst still being safe. I know my rifle is heavy, but I'm comfortable with it, and I know I can shoot well with it.

Sleeping bag seems a logical place to save some weight? I'm sure I'm forgetting items as well, so feel free to let me know what I've gotten wrong!

I'll be hunting in the Victorian high country. My area has a good stream of fresh water year round, and night time temperatures will be around 0 or slightly lower, celsius.

I appreciate any feedback!

adamjp

FNG
Without significant changes in a short time...
- You can halve the number of cartridges.

Suggestions...
- What are you going to eat for three days?
- Add a spare pair of woollen socks and some gaiters. Snakes are out and about!
- Where is your hat? Breaks your silhouette and keeps the sun off.
- Headlamp? I bought a Nitecore HC65 last year and it rocks!
- Binoculars? 8 or 10x are a good starting point.
- A pull through or a breakdown cleaning rod. Nothing worse than mud in the muzzle from a slip getting down a creek bank.
- Personal Locator Beacon (PLB)? I have a rescueME PLB and don't leave camp without it.
- Lots of gear to hump for Fallow hunting. 6.5 Creed isn't legal for Sambar. Think 30/06 instead.

After your hunt...
- Order some titanium pans and a cup. For about $50 off eBay they will be far more useful than the alloy stuff.
- Get into a down bag. Mont are a good brand that is local to you. A Sea to Summit Reactor liner is also worth it for those colder nights.
- Sleeping mat isn't very good insulation for it's weight. Think Thermarest or Exped. Bogong gear or Snowys will be able to steer you in the right direction.