Avail vs Kiowa

jdvanstar

WKR
I’m a whitetail guy who saddle hunts. Looking for a day pack that I can attach to a frame when I go west or go with shoulder straps when I’m hunting whitetails (I also like a smaller pack when I go camping with the family). I’ve decided I like the Avail and the Kiowa. Thinking I’ll strap the platform and sticks to the outside and load up clothes inside.
Anyone have experience with both? Which makes more sense for my use? Any input appreciated!

NoWiser

WKR
I have an Avail and love it. For what you are looking to do, it’s probably a bit on the small side, especially if you need to stuff it with warm, bulky clothes.

USMC307

Lil-Rokslider
I have the avail and love it too. I’m the guy hauling the Turkey on SG website. Pretty awesome! I have no experience with the Kiowa or your style of hunting. I use it for cross country skiing, turkey, antelope and whitetail. Sometimes take it on private land cow elk hunts. Holds puffy, kill kit, possibles pouch and lunch. Compression pouch works great for quick stuffing coat. Only 2 downsides for me. Short belt for 34 in waist. And shortish frame for 6’2” if throwing over 50 lbs on. Hope this helps.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I bought an Avail this year for saddle hunting and I am as happy with it as I can be. I have been carrying two sticks on the compression straps on each side, with my platform under the back panel. I still have room for a few extra layers, a bottle or two of water and anything else I may need for a day hunt.

dkrejar

FNG
I bought an Avail this year for saddle hunting and I am as happy with it as I can be. I have been carrying two sticks on the compression straps on each side, with my platform under the back panel. I still have room for a few extra layers, a bottle or two of water and anything else I may need for a day hunt.