AZ December Rifle Coues tactics advice

RyanG505

FNG
I was lucky and drew an Arizona Unit 29 coues rifle hunt for December, this is my first crack at coues deer. I have no experience with coues deer other than I've seen them a few times here and there while mule deer hunting in southern NM. Is there any make or break advice that you guys would recommend as to tactics for these little ghostly bucks? I know the obvious of glass, glass, glass, and I'm capable of hiking wherever, but just curious if there is make or break stuff avid coues hunters have discovered? Also, if anyone has any great reading material recommendations on these deer I can look into I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks in advance for any advice or learning I can gain.

I was lucky and drew an Arizona Unit 29 coues rifle hunt for December, this is my first crack at coues deer. I have no experience with coues deer other than I've seen them a few times here and there while mule deer hunting in southern NM. Is there any make or break advice that you guys would recommend as to tactics for these little ghostly bucks? I know the obvious of glass, glass, glass, and I'm capable of hiking wherever, but just curious if there is make or break stuff avid coues hunters have discovered? Also, if anyone has any great reading material recommendations on these deer I can look into I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks in advance for any advice or learning I can gain.

The early December hunt or the late hunt?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fitzwho

WKR
I had the early December hunt in Unit 29 last year. I didn’t spend a lot of time in the unit (about 18 hours). But I saw a lot of deer, enough so that I should have probably been a little pickier. PM me and I can point you in a few directions.

3868a7cc8dfe9546bfb30ed6c006c98c.png

OP
RyanG505

RyanG505

FNG