AZ early season Muley/Coues tips

Sobrbiker

WKR
I’m new to archery deer here in AZ, and had an interesting late season hunt. 1 600yd stalk on a muley spike that turned out to be me imagining spikes on a doe, and two clean miss blown shots on decent coues bucks (full on rookie mistakes in each case, learned from them and thankfully didn’t wound either).
That said, I’ll be heading out solo DIY IN August, I know to be quiet, be patient, play the wind etc.
I just really have no clue as to what to look for in late summer terrain, where to hunt out of the Phx area (not BP hunting solo in August) that won’t have a pool party of blinds over water...etc.

I know enough to know I don’t know much, and am looking for nuggets of wisdom to make my odds of success better. Not looking for honey holes, more general areas and what to look for in an area I plan to hunt. Do the muleys skidaddle to completely different terrain in the warm months?
Blind/no blind, spot and stalk still viable or sitting water the only way to get it done?

Anyway, basically looking for anything that will help a beginner bow hunter in early season AZ.

jdubrr

Lil-Rokslider
if you're going out in August I think your best bet would to sit water, or at least know where the water holes are

Dvidos

Lil-Rokslider
if you're going out in August I think your best bet would to sit water, or at least know where the water holes are
+1
AA.jpg

bowuntr

WKR
Most don't have the balls to sit water in the desert in 100 degree heat in August. Scout hard in July and August and you'll find the right spot. If you decide to hunt the cooler high country you'll be run over with competition. Ed F

OP
Sobrbiker

Sobrbiker

WKR
Most don't have the balls to sit water in the desert in 100 degree heat in August. Scout hard in July and August and you'll find the right spot. If you decide to hunt the cooler high country you'll be run over with competition. Ed F

Good thing I’ve been working outside the past 20yrs!

OP
Sobrbiker