Backcountry Mountain Biking on a Budget

Mike7

WKR
With more and more roads and trails popping up that do not allow motorized vehicle travel, I thought it might be interesting to have a thread on mountain biking in the backcountry with some gear and other info that myself and other people here may have found useful. I am not a bicycle expert by any means (I use the local bike shop for that), but I have been riding in the backcountry regularly for the past 15 years. In that time, I have developed some preferences for gear that I will go through here briefly and others can chime in with their own knowledge, experience, and preferences. A bicycle is a great way to explore an area, to save your feet and knees from some abuse and fatigue, to pack out meat over long distances particularly if you have a trailer, and a good way to quickly bomb out of an area down a closed road after dark on the way back to base camp when you are not planning to stay overnight up in the area you are hunting.

1) The bicycle: