Backcountry Outfitted Hunt - CO or MT?

Lifelong bird hunter, adult onset elk hunter. Actually, I've yet to hunt elk, but I am presently accumulating the gear and will go in 2022. I have zero big game hunting experience and so it follows that I am greener than green when it comes to western hunting. I am resolved to go on a backcountry hunt, horses and wall tents and all that, in either CO or Montana. What are your opinions of each state, where I should go, and even better, outfitter reviews. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

PNWGATOR

WKR
Do you have any bonus or preference points anywhere? If not, buy them now in WY and MT to give you a better opportunity for the hunt you’re after.

Research everything you can on hunting elk in the Thorofare in WY. Yellowstone Outfitters and Triangle X come to mind.

brn2hnt

WKR
That dream hunt is different to everyone. But to me, it’s the idea of the mountain man style experience. The nostalgia of hunting the same areas I read about as a kid, from both fictional and real accounts.

That means I want grizzly bears and big bulls. Which means WY or MT.

Way more barriers to entry in WY, so that would be first, MT second. That’s my “someday” hunt.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
J
I have a few Wyoming points - accumulating for a specific high points limited quota. 1 MT point.

tdhanses

WKR
I have a few Wyoming points - accumulating for a specific high points limited quota. 1 MT point.
You do know they currently are proposing cutting nonresident tag allocations in half in WY for limited quota hunts, if you don’t have 20+ pts doubt you’ll ever draw. Next year could be your best time to use them.

Deadfall

WKR
A good tell tell sign of what kind of outfit you dealing with is how booked they are. If a place has lots of openings, I would be wary. With draw systems now and life, holes do open up. All in all the better places will be booked a year in advance

Lelder

Lil-Rokslider