Backpacking Gear For Backpacking/Hunting/Camping

I am new to backpack hunting and have camped only a handful of times in my life. But that will be changing here soon...

I am also going to Montana to seasonally work on trail maintenance and some day require 8 day trips out in the wilderness.

Is there an recommendations from experienced backpack hunters that can lead me in the right direction on gear (camping, packs, etc) for this summer and future?

I only have a Stone Glacier frame and a dry bag ("Minimalist" by Stone Glacier) so far...

Rob5589

WKR
You're in the right place; comb through this section as well as the backpack section. Probably 99% of your questions are answered between those forums. Whatever you can't find, ask away.

RCB

WKR
Backpacking is enjoyed by lots of folks other than hunters, so be sure to google around and soak up all the information you can get.

Apart from that, my recommendation is to camp out as often as you can. Experience trumps gear.

Northpark

WKR
Welcome to the very deep dark rabbit hole of backcountry hunting. Lots of good info here. Everything from pads and bags to packs to headlamps, electronics, food, clothing, and shelters.

Basics for trail work (kind of assuming USFS trail crew) are good boots, a pack, a good bag (or quilt) and pad, a stove and eating utensil, headlamp, tent, maybe some rain gear, a leatherman, probably a puffy jacket if working in the Rockies because it’s cold at 10000’ in the morning even in July.

Other than those things you just kind of have to go do it and figure out what works for you. Only experience will really let you know what gear you need.

Windigo

Lil-Rokslider