Backpacking packs VS Hunting specific pack

Sock

FNG
I have been backpacking for about 8 years and have always had one pack. It's carried me through a few countries and hundreds of miles of trails.

I started getting into back country hunting to combine my hobbies and have a hard time with thinking of getting a pack specific for back country hunting.

I have packed a blacktail out of northern California and I am planning a back country hunt in Idaho this fall. Trying to decide if i should use what I have or find something new.

Besides the ability to stow meat between your the frame and pack, what are some other benefits of these packs?

It seems like most companies sell additional pouches and accessories to make an extra Buck instead of including them like most backpacking bags...

What are some other aspects of hunting backpacks that I might be over looking?

I'm kinda in the same boat. Just sold my Osprey pack after ordering a K3. The reason that I switched was primarily the meat hauling capacity.

I definitely agree that it is frustrating to pay so much extra for a little pouch or a bottle holster when the packs are already SO expensive relative to high end backpacking packs.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

EastMont

FNG
I've still got my osprey argos 85L. I have packed a handful of elk and deer with it and still use it as my go to. It has more padding, is designed better, and in my opinion- is more durable than many of the hunting packs out there. Not to mention $2-300 cheaper. If your pinching dollars, your extra money is better spent on boots or a tags.

Scrappy

WKR
Really bottom line is if your going to be hunting big critters like elk. All you need is a pack that can carry the amount of weight your comfortable with carrying. ABSOLUTELY doesn't matter who makes the pack or what kind of pack. Can it handle the weight is the only question.

hayesplow

Lil-Rokslider