Backpacks and Horses

I am considering putting a deposit on a wilderness hunt that would require a lot of time on a horse. I have a Kifaru Duplex Lite with a Woodsman that is a good size for me for an day pack. I also have a KUIU Ultra Frame and Bag that is also at my disposal... My question is, those of you that have spent time on horses...what day pack did you find that worked or didn't work well when riding a horse.

I am wondering if I should be considering an interior framed pack in lieu of an exterior one.

Blessings~

I'll join with a similar but more specific question, as I have no horseback hunting experience. I'm interested in taking a Stryker XL/24" frame on a wilderness horsepacking trip. Not sure how the horse, saddle, hip belt/frame will get along.

mxgsfmdpx

WKR
I normally take a smaller built in frame pack over my heavy hauling separate frame/bag pack when the horses and mules come.

Let them carry the extra gear.

EdP

WKR
Don't plan on wearing much of a pack while riding a horse, especially not a frame pack. You want to be able to let your spine flex and a frame won't let you do that. Put gear in the saddlebags and wear a small pack low down on your back. The last thing you want is to put weight up high on your back raising your center of gravity. Get weight up between your shoulders and have your horse get frisky you could easily find your face in the dirt. One outfitter I hunted with recommended using a large fanny pack and had saddlebags on all the stock. Another had the rifle scabbard on one side of the saddle and put your rucksack hanging off the saddle horn on the other side as counterbalance. Both systems worked.

Read1t48

WKR