Backup Binoculars

JakeSCH

WKR
Just curious if anyone on here keeps a good set of binoculars as backups incase something happens? I have been running Maven B2 9x45's for several years and love the glass but decided to test out the EL's with the large selloff going on and picked up a pair of 8.5x42's.

The EL's are slightly better, but I have a hard time parting with the B2's because they are fantastic so I am debating holding onto them as a pair of backups. Anyone else keep a good pair of backups? I would probably let my family and buddies borrow them as needed

go_deep

WKR
I have a set of B.1 10x42's I use for a backup pair and let friends from out of state use when they come hunt.
If you need the cash, sell the extra pair.
If you don't, it's pretty handy having the extra pair around.

TheGDog

WKR
I've always justified keeping the piece of equipment around saying to myself, the boy can use it/inherit it.

It is a good idea to have a backup set though. Last year that's how come I decided to buy those ZEISS because the twist-up eyecups of my Vortex DiamondBack's that I'd had like maybe 3-4 yrs decided to up and fail during bow season. Looked like the adhesive used in assembling them onto the main body housing just got all hardened up.

Not knowing how long it'd take to get back to me, and wanting something better anyway... I opted for an upgrade. And interestingly enough, the newer model DiamondBack's they ended up sending me back are quite nice! The ZEISS still have that last little degree of nicer to their image. But you get my point.

Bought a pair of 8 x 30 Leupold Bx4 just for bow hunting. Would not work in the western states but they will do in the Mississippi woods to back up my Leica 7 x 42’s.

sektr

FNG
Never hurts to have backups. You could lose or damage your mains, or maybe you take a new hunter out and lend them a pair. Many reasons.