Bag vs quilt; nemo vs HG

Archer_32

FNG
I'm looking to get into backpack camping having recently moved to Montana but I'm concerned about sleeping bags vs quilts. I'm a large american, 6' 250# with a broad chest and I have trouble fitting in some of the bags available in person at the local big box store (read I fit but its uncomfortable).

I have narrowed it down, I think, to the Nemo disco 15 sleeping bag or the hammock gear econ burrow 10 degree long wide ground quilt. While I'll be camping mostly in the spring, summer, fall my sleeping pad has a r value of 4.1 and I'm usually a warm sleeper but since I'm just getting into this stuff I need equipment that I can use year round as much as possible. These two bags appear to cost relatively the same amount and weight is comparable (I will also be backpack hunting). I guess my only real hesitation with the quilt is how warm it will be given the opening vs the sleeping bag. Thoughts? Suggestions?

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk

ljalberta

WKR
No personal use with the Hammock Gear quilts. But, I would say, be aware their wide model is only 55". I'm not sure if that's the width when the fabric is cut (resulting in even less finished width) or if that's the final width, but either way, it may not be wide enough if you like a little room to sprawl or move around without letting all the heat escape. For instance, I personally use an EE quilt in the 56" wide (but finished width is closer to 52/53") and I'd prefer even wider on my next quilt. I am 5'9" 160-175lbs. I am quite the active sleeper though.